click for the homepage
mobile menu button

Contact Us

apply 2


report 2


pay 2


Home > News > Changes made to Babergh Cabinet

Changes made to Babergh Cabinet

Posted by on 27 July 2018 | Comments

Babergh District Council's Cabinet has been reshuffled, following the stepping down of Cabinet Member for Finance Cllr Peter Patrick.

Cllr Patrick remains a member of Babergh District Council, but no longer sits on the Cabinet. As a result, Babergh’s full Cabinet stands as:

  • Leader, Finance Portfolio: Cllr John Ward
  • Deputy Leader, Housing Portfolio: Cllr Jan Osborne
  • Economy Portfolio: Cllr Simon Barrett
  • Environment Portfolio: Cllr Tina Campbell
  • Organisational Delivery Portfolio: Cllr Derek Davis
  • Communications Portfolio: Cllr Kathryn Grandon
  • Assets & Investment Portfolio: Cllr Frank Lawrenson
  • Communities Portfolio: Cllr Margaret Maybury
  • Planning Portfolio: Cllr Nick Ridley

Cllr John Ward, Leader of Babergh District Council, said: “I’m very happy to welcome Cllr Simon Barrett into our Cabinet, and both Simon and Cllrs Melanie Barrett and Michael Holt back to our group. The experience and knowledge of our district that they possesses is a great asset for Babergh and Simon, with decades of experience as a businessman, a councillor and a portfolio holder can make a real difference in the Cabinet. It’s no secret that we have had disagreements in the past, but our first duty is to our residents and we would be failing them if we didn’t take advantage of the skills and experience Simon, Melanie and Michael so willingly bring to public service. I know that we and our entire group are looking forward to working together for the benefit of Babergh.”