click for the homepage
mobile menu button

Contact Us

apply 2


report 2


pay 2


Home > News > Changes to Mid Suffolk District Council Cabinet

Changes to Mid Suffolk District Council Cabinet

Posted by on 27 July 2018 | Comments

Mid Suffolk District Council's Cabinet has been reshuffled as Cllr David Whybrow steps down as Cabinet Member for Planning.

The full Mid Suffolk Cabinet stands as follows:

  • Leader, Cabinet Member for Assets and Investment: Cllr Nick Gowrley
  • Deputy Leader, Cabinet Member for Finance: Cllr John Whitehead
  • Cabinet Member for Communities: Cllr Julie Flatman
  • Cabinet Member for Housing: Cllr Jill Wilshaw
  • Cabinet Member for Environment: Cllr David Burn
  • Cabinet Member for Economy: Cllr Gerard Brewster
  • Cabinet Member for Organisational Delivery (including Customer Access): Cllr Suzie Morley
  • Cabinet Member for Planning: Cllr Glen Horn
  • Cabinet Member without Portfolio: Cllr Rachel Eburne
  • Cabinet Member without Portfolio: Cllr Penny Otton

And also, continuing to support the Cabinet will be the Lead Members:

  • Leader Member for Waste: Cllr Roy Barker
  • Lead Member for Health & Wellbeing: Cllr Diana Kearsley

Cllr Nick Gowrley, Leader of Mid Suffolk District Council, said: “We’re into the second year of our Cabinet model of governance, and the first major changes. Cllr David Whybrow asked to step down for personal reasons: David has put in an immense amount of work into the Planning Portfolio, and has successfully rebuilt our 5 Year Housing Land Supply. I’d like to thank David for everything he has done for the district and his dedication to duty that drove him to stay in post until the Land Supply was resolved.

“The Cabinet model is proving an excellent way to make sure the council’s leadership is both strong and flexible enough to meet the challenges we face, yet accountable to all members.”